CompareSG

Beginner piano lessons in Singapore

What beginner piano lessons actually cost, school by school.

Beginner piano lessons, lined up by price

Entry-level, one-to-one, 45 minutes a week, billed per month (about 4 lessons). Cheapest first.

  1. 1
    Intune Music (opens in a new tab)Classical, Beginner grade, 45 min including theoryclassical
    S$190S$47.50 a lesson
  2. 2
    Sonare Music School (opens in a new tab)A 'starts from' price. The page also says fees include GST'from' price
    S$195S$48.75 a lesson
  3. 3
    Yamaha Music School (opens in a new tab)Yamaha Piano Course for ages 5.5 and up. S$220 on weekday slotsGST included
    S$232S$58 a lesson
  4. 4
    King George's Music Academy (opens in a new tab)Standard-faculty track, 4 lessons a month
    S$239S$59.75 a lesson
  5. 5
    Alpha Piano Studio (opens in a new tab)4 lessons a month. No registration fee, no deposit
    S$280S$70 a lesson
  6. 6
    Play By Ear (opens in a new tab)Pop improvisation course for kids, 4 lessons a monthpop syllabus
    S$288S$72 a lesson
  7. 7
    LVL Music Academy (opens in a new tab)Published as S$85 a lesson. The monthly figure is S$85 x 4derived
    S$340S$85 a lesson
  8. 8
    Takano Music Studio (opens in a new tab)1-on-1 Children's Piano, ages 4 and up, weekly, paid monthly
    S$356S$89 a lesson
  9. 9
    Hogan Music Academy (opens in a new tab)Lessons at your home only: the teacher travels to you. 4 lessons a monthin-home
    S$375S$93.75 a lesson
  10. 10
    Aureus Academy (opens in a new tab)4 lessons a month. Lesson books and materials included
    S$399S$99.75 a lesson

Published monthly price   Hatched bars are a "from" price or a monthly figure we worked out from a per-lesson price.

At a glance

10 of 31schools we read publish a price
S$190–399a month for a 45-minute beginner lesson, fixed prices only
S$284middle price a month, 45-minute lesson, of 10 (1 of 10 is a 'from' price)
6schools publish a 30-minute price
16prices ranked on two ladders

Eight things worth sticking on the fridge

The lowest

Intune Music has the lowest published price: S$190 a month for a 45-minute Beginner lesson (4 lessons).

The highest

Aureus Academy has the highest: S$399 a month for a 45-minute lesson (4 lessons, lesson books and materials included).

The gap

S$209 separates the lowest and highest 45-minute prices. The highest is 2.1x the lowest (fixed prices only).

GST, anyone?

Only Yamaha says outright that its price includes GST (9%). The other nine don't say, or say it both ways.

The cheapest half hour

Of the six schools that publish a 30-minute price, Cristofori's Poppy Piano package (ages 4 to 7) works out cheapest, at about S$42 a lesson: S$1,850 for 44 thirty-minute lessons, paid up front for 12 months.

Derived from a prepaid promotional package.

The full hour

Five schools publish a 60-minute price. It runs from S$289 to S$519 a month.

Two need a footnote: Sonare's is a 'from' price, and LVL's is worked out from a per-lesson price.

Small fees

Of the ten, four schools publish a one-time registration fee, from S$20 to S$60. Alpha and Hogan say outright that they charge none, and no deposit either.

Try before you buy

Alpha offers two free trial lessons and Hogan one. Sonare and King George's charge S$20 for a trial.

Every fact above comes from the school's own page, linked in the card, read on 20 Sep 2026. Details in "The boring bit" at the bottom.

Where the island actually agrees

The ten prices bunch into three groups, with a gap between them. Nothing here rates teaching. We compare prices only.

S$190 to S$239

4 schools

Four schools sit within S$49 of each other.

Intune Music, Sonare Music School, Yamaha Music School, King George's Music Academy

S$280 to S$288

2 schools

Two schools, S$8 apart.

Alpha Piano Studio, Play By Ear

S$340 to S$399

4 schools

Four schools above S$300.

LVL Music Academy, Takano Music Studio, Hogan Music Academy, Aureus Academy

Longer lessons, lower price per minute

Seven schools publish more than one lesson length. At five of the seven, a longer lesson costs less per lesson-minute. Hogan charges the same per minute at both lengths. Sonare is the exception, and its figures are "from" prices. Per-minute figures assume 4 lessons a month, and the ratio between lengths is the same whatever the number.

Monthly price by lesson length, and price per lesson-minute (30, 45, then 60 minutes)
School30 min45 min60 minPer lesson-minutePattern
Aureus AcademyS$279S$399S$519S$2.33 to S$2.22 to S$2.16cheaper per minute as lessons get longer
King George's Music AcademyS$189S$239S$289S$1.58 to S$1.33 to S$1.20cheaper per minute as lessons get longer
LVL Music AcademyS$260 (derived)S$340 (derived)S$420 (derived)S$2.17 to S$1.89 to S$1.75cheaper per minute as lessons get longer
Takano Music StudioS$260S$356not publishedS$2.17 to S$1.98cheaper per minute as lessons get longer
Hogan Music AcademyS$250S$375not publishedS$2.08 to S$2.08same price per minute at both lengths
Alpha Piano Studionot publishedS$280S$320S$1.56 to S$1.33cheaper per minute as lessons get longer
Sonare Music Schoolnot publishedS$195 (from)S$290 (from)S$1.08 to S$1.21dearer per minute as lessons get longer

A 30-minute lesson

Six schools publish a 30-minute price. Two are worked out from a per-lesson or prepaid price, so treat this as a rough guide. It's not a head-to-head.

  1. 1
    Cristofori Music School (opens in a new tab)Poppy Piano, ages 4 to 7. S$1,850 for 44 lessons, paid up front for 12 monthsderivedpackage
    S$168.18S$42.05 a lesson
  2. 2
    King George's Music Academy (opens in a new tab)Standard-faculty track, 4 lessons a month
    S$189S$47.25 a lesson
  3. 3
    Hogan Music Academy (opens in a new tab)Lessons at your home only. S$62.50 a lesson, 4 lessons a monthin-home
    S$250S$62.50 a lesson
  4. 4
    Takano Music Studio (opens in a new tab)1-on-1 Children's Piano, ages 4 and up, weekly, paid monthly
    S$260S$65 a lesson
  5. 5
    LVL Music Academy (opens in a new tab)Published as S$65 a lesson. The monthly figure is S$65 x 4derived
    S$260S$65 a lesson
  6. 6
    S$279S$69.75 a lesson

What sets the top and bottom apart

Two different shapes, not two different quality levels. We don't rate teaching, and the price alone says nothing about it.

Intune Music: S$190

Classical Piano, Beginner grade, 45 minutes including theory, weekly, one-to-one, S$190 per 4 lessons. The same table climbs by grade to Diploma at S$480. GST basis isn't stated.

Aureus Academy: S$399

45 minutes, 4 lessons a month, one-to-one. The price page lists all lesson materials and books, a progress portal, backing tracks, a trophy and certificate, and an achievement guarantee as included. GST basis isn't stated.

The middle of the ten sits at S$284. The four highest, LVL (S$340, derived), Takano (S$356), Hogan (S$375, lessons at your home) and Aureus (S$399), sit at least S$52 above the next school.

The small print, school by school

Fees beyond the lesson price, as each school states them
SchoolRegistration and depositGSTTrial lesson
Intune MusicNot statedNot statedNot stated
Sonare Music SchoolS$32.70 enrolment fee, one-month refundable depositPrices carry '++', but the page also says fees include GSTS$20 a trial, up to two
Yamaha Music SchoolS$60 registration (incl. GST), S$150 refundable deposit if not paying by GIROIncluded (9%)Free trial
King George's Music AcademyS$30 registration on its rates page, S$50 on its FAQ page; one-month depositNot statedS$20 trial
Alpha Piano StudioNoneNot statedTwo free trials
Play By EarS$20 registration, one-month refundable depositNot statedNot shown on the current fees page
LVL Music AcademyNot statedNot statedTrial offered, fee not stated
Takano Music StudioNot statedNot statedS$80 trial (30 min) or S$105 (45 min)
Hogan Music AcademyNone: no registration fee, no depositNot statedFree trial lesson
Aureus AcademyNot statedNot statedTrial offered, fee not stated

Test your price sense

Score: 0 out of 0

66 rounds mixing who's cheaper, cheapest-of-three, guess-the-price, who-offers-this and higher-or-lower questions, each about businesses on the same price list; questions about 'from' prices say so; prices we worked out are never used. The middle in higher-or-lower questions counts every ranked price.

The short version

How much do beginner piano lessons cost in Singapore? S$190 to S$399 a month for 45-minute lessons, across 10 schools.

45-minute beginner one-to-one piano lessons: S$190 to S$399 a month across 10 schools, prices from each school's own site, read on 20 Sep 2026.

This comparison covers 10 schools priced, 31 read, roughly 70 found. Every price comes from the business's own website, read and dated, and the comparison was last verified on 20 Sep 2026. No business pays to be included or to rank.

The ladder at the top lines up every business from cheapest to priciest. Below it are the standout findings, how prices spread out, and the details that matter before you book or buy. We compare prices that are comparable enough, not identical, and “The boring bit” says exactly where we drew the line.

The boring bit

Methodology, caveats and what we left out. Everything above rests on this.

There is no dot plot here: each business publishes one price for this item, so the ladders above already show every price.

Coverage

10 schools with a published price for the standard lesson, out of roughly 70 schools and studios we found in Singapore. That 70 is our own count from searching neighbourhood by neighbourhood, not an official figure, and there are surely more. We read the websites of 31 of them. The rest weren't read. Cristofori is counted separately: it publishes a 30-minute package price only.

Last verified

20 Sep 2026. Every price in the ladder was read off the school's own website or published price list on that date and checked against it. The outliers (the lowest, the highest and the derived LVL price) were read a second time before publishing. Three prices were read from screenshots or a document of the school's own page, because those pages couldn't be read automatically: King George's, Play By Ear and Cristofori. Dated snapshots are kept, and old data is never overwritten.

What "comparable enough" means here

We compare prices that are comparable enough for a fair reading, not strictly identical. The standard lesson is entry-level, one-to-one, 45 minutes, weekly, billed per month (about 4 lessons). Small differences are taken at face value, and the same rule is applied to every school. The line was drawn here:

  • King George's rates page lists several tracks. We used its Integrated Curriculum (standard-faculty) track, which its FAQ says covers piano from age 4. Its rates page and FAQ give different registration fees (S$30 and S$50), so both are shown.
  • Play By Ear's own pages disagree with each other: older pages show S$172 to S$196 for its kids' course, and the current junior course page shows S$288. We used the current one.
  • Classical and pop courses both count, as long as a complete beginner can start on them. Play By Ear teaches a pop, improvisation-based syllabus.
  • A "from" price is taken as published (Sonare).
  • A per-lesson price is multiplied by 4 for a monthly figure (LVL), and labelled as derived. Per-lesson prices in the ladder are the monthly price divided by 4.
  • GST is shown as each school states it. Only Yamaha states plainly that its price includes GST (Sonare's page says both), so prices aren't adjusted.
  • Hogan Music Academy teaches only at students' homes, so its price includes the teacher travelling. It's in the ladder, tagged "in-home", because the standard doesn't specify where the lesson happens.
  • Standard list prices only. Trials, promotions and one-off fees are noted separately.

What isn't compared, and why

  • Prices not published (16 schools). 5 say to enquire for fees, and 11 show no fee amounts on the pages we checked (two of these are a solo teacher and a two-teacher studio).
  • Pricing that doesn't line up (2 schools). One teacher-matching agency tiers its rates by teacher qualification and location. One school offers 60-minute pop lessons for teens and adults only.
  • A prepaid package (1 school). Cristofori's Poppy Piano is priced as a 12-month package of 30-minute lessons, so it appears only in the 30-minute lesson ladder. Its flyer says licensed Cristofori centres may charge differently.
  • Couldn't be read (1 school). One school's site blocks automated readers, so we couldn't read its fee page.
  • Outside the scope (1 school). A diploma institution.
  • Left out by type. Group lessons, solo private teachers and teacher-matching agencies aren't part of this comparison. Independent teachers are too many to cover: one directory says it lists more than 300.

Where the prices come from

Every price is published by the school itself, on its own site or price list. No delivery-app markups, third-party estimates, review-site guesses or blog mentions. Where a page shows a range or a "from" price, that's noted. Each school name in the ladder links to the page we read.

Every school we looked at, and what we found

Every school here is named alongside the page we read, worded as plainly as we can. Publish your prices somewhere we missed? Tell us and we'll add you.

31 schools and studios, read 20 Sep 2026
SchoolWhat we foundSource
Intune MusicPriced. See the ladder abovepage checked (opens in a new tab)
Sonare Music SchoolPriced. See the ladder abovepage checked (opens in a new tab)
Yamaha Music SchoolPriced. See the ladder abovepage checked (opens in a new tab)
King George's Music AcademyPriced. See the ladder abovepage checked (opens in a new tab)
Alpha Piano StudioPriced. See the ladder abovepage checked (opens in a new tab)
Play By EarPriced. See the ladder abovepage checked (opens in a new tab)
LVL Music AcademyPriced. See the ladder abovepage checked (opens in a new tab)
Takano Music StudioPriced. See the ladder abovepage checked (opens in a new tab)
Hogan Music AcademyPriced. See the ladder abovepage checked (opens in a new tab)
Aureus AcademyPriced. See the ladder abovepage checked (opens in a new tab)
Cristofori Music School30-minute package price only (Poppy Piano, ages 4 to 7); no 45-minute price foundpage checked (opens in a new tab)
Awesome Piano AcademyTeacher-matching agency with rates tiered by teacher and locationpage checked (opens in a new tab)
Replugged Music School60-minute pop lessons for teens and adults onlypage checked (opens in a new tab)
Stradivari StringsA general 'from' fee range for lessons, no piano price; asks for a callpage checked (opens in a new tab)
Kawai Music SchoolWebsite under construction, contact by phone or messagepage checked (opens in a new tab)
La Dolce Music CentreFees by enquirypage checked (opens in a new tab)
Hark MusicFees by enquiry; pop school for teens and adultspage checked (opens in a new tab)
Seimpi School of MusicFees depend on teacher and grade, by enquirypage checked (opens in a new tab)
Asia Music SchoolFees by enquirypage checked (opens in a new tab)
Vienna Music SchoolFees by enquirypage checked (opens in a new tab)
Coronation Music SchoolNo fee amounts on the pages we checkedpage checked (opens in a new tab)
Melodious Piano StudioNo fee amounts on the pages we checkedpage checked (opens in a new tab)
Creative HeartsNo fee amounts on the pages we checkedpage checked (opens in a new tab)
Joy Music Studio (Marine Parade)No fee amounts on the pages we checkedpage checked (opens in a new tab)
Monty Piano StudioNo lesson fee on the pages we checked (registration fee only)page checked (opens in a new tab)
STACCATO!No fee amounts on the pages we checkedpage checked (opens in a new tab)
Adeline Yeo Piano Studio (pianoteacher.sg)Solo teacher; no fee amounts on the pages we checkedpage checked (opens in a new tab)
2pianoteachersTwo-teacher studio; no fee amounts on the pages we checkedpage checked (opens in a new tab)
Methodist School of Music (MSM)Says fees vary by course; registration and deposit stated, no lesson fee amounts on its piano pagepage checked (opens in a new tab)
Espressivo Music AcademyIts site blocks automated readers, so we couldn't read its fee pagepage checked (opens in a new tab)
SOMADiploma institution, so left out of a children's lesson comparisonpage checked (opens in a new tab)

Independence

No payment, gift or sponsorship affects who is included, how they rank or how they are described.

Spotted a mistake?

Report an error. Corrections are logged publicly with a date.